The Council of the County of Vermilion River is comprised of seven Councillors who are elected for three year terms:

Council oversees all municipal activities, including:

  • Municipal planning and zoning by-laws
  • Land development
  • Property taxes
  • The borrowing of money for capital expenditures
  • Bylaw Enforcement
  • Fire protection
  • Recreation programs and facilities
  • Building standards
  • Transportation/traffic
  • Storm sewer, sidewalk, road maintenance and improvement
  • Water & sewage
  • Disposal of garbage

All of these powers are delegated to the municipality from the Government of Alberta through legislative Acts and Regulations.

Council meetings are held in the Council Chambers at the County Office at 9:00 A.M. and are open to the public.  Any changes to the meeting schedule will be posted on the Upcoming Events Calendar on our home page. This schedule may change at any time. 

Any person who wishes to speak at a Council meeting may do so provided that notice is first given to the County Administrator using this REQUEST FOR APPOINTMENT form, no later than one week preceding the Council meeting.

The meetings of Council and its Committees are regulated by the rules contained in the Council Procedures Bylaw. Procedures have evolved over the years and are intended to facilitate efficient handling of Council business. The provisions of the Procedures Bylaw are observed both by Council and by its Committees.

The Councillors for the 2017 - 2021 term are:

Division 1 - Marty Baker                     
Division 2 - Dale Swyripa, Reeve
Division 3 - Stacey Hryciuk, Deputy Reeve
Division 4 - Lonnie Wolgien
Division 5 - Jason Stelmaschuk
Division 6 - Clinton Murray
Division 7 - Leslie Cusack

Monthly Councillor Time Sheets

April 2017  May 2017  June 2017 July 2017 
August 2017 September 2017  October 2017  November 2017 
December 2017  January 2018  February 2018 March 2018 
April 2018  May 2018  June 2018 July 2018 
August 2018 September 2018